As I blog

Everyone,

Have you ever noticed this quote:

I have made this letter longer, because I have not had the time to make it shorter. Blaise Pascal

The quote shows up in the administrative section of my wordpress account.

First, Pascal taught me a lot.

Second, this quote is so true of writing in general and blogging in specific. WHENEVER I edit what I write, I remove words. The more I edit, the shorter the writing becomes.

I remember once in graduate school thinking, “If I edit this 12 page paper one more time, it won’t be 8 pages long. I should turn it in the way it is.” NOTE: I just took out 6 words from that thought.

Have you ever been longer winded than you wish you had?

In a letter, a blog, a paper, or an argument?

ghost.

This entry was posted in blog, blogging. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

