“‘If the writing is honest it cannot be separated from the man who wrote it.’ Tennessee Williams”

Everyone,

wordpress posted another anecdote on my administration panel. “‘If the writing is honest it cannot be separated from the man who wrote it.’ Tennessee Williams”

When I first read this, I thought, “Exactly!

But, then I thought, “What about fiction? Murder?

Ah, the nuances of this simple sentence.

On the one hand, the writer is the creator. Ah-ha! I just thought of a great illustration. But, first, let me finish this thought.

The writer creates, and of course, is the master of his work.

On the other hand, if a writer writes a fiction, or even an ancient history, HOW much of that is truly part of the author?

OK, to my example:

I believe God created the Universe. I am not going to get preachy. I am just using this as an illustration.

Much of modern humanity is far removed from the Creator and Author.

And so, there is this duality. This dichotomy. Ironically, the Universe cannot be separated from God in the historic Christian Tradition.

But, that does not mean that God intends suffering and murder. And that suffering and murder is separated from him ….

So, back to the human author. I think some of what a man writes, or a woman for that matter, is separated in a realistic sense from the author.

BUT, the creator of a work always gets attribution rights.

Did I make any sense at all?

Do you like what Tennessee Williams wrote – I do love it. It made me think.

How about you?

ghost.

This entry was posted in blog, blogging, God, Writing and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

