Why do you read?

Friends,

I went to an interesting class a week ago. I learned about story telling. We used stories from the Bible.

I was amazed to learn 15% of people read. 85% of people only read if they have to.

Why do you read? Do you enjoy reading, or is reading a necessary evil?

Ghost.

This entry was posted in blog, blogging, God, Writing and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Why do you read?

  1. This is a sad statistic! It’s partly because illiteracy is increasing. Having been a reader all my life, I’m now getting an in-depth look at the world of a friend who is “functionally illiterate.” Bank statements, sales bills, instructions, government letters… I’ve had to interpret them all for her.
    She hears things (i.e. misc muddled health info) but can’t verify anything. Someone tells her, “A crook can steal your ID/credit card number right through your purse,” so she fears without having any recourse to facts. It’s like wandering around in a permanent fog of misunderstanding –and it affects about 25% of the population, according to one stat I read.
    It seems to me that anyone who can manage a computer and WordPress enough to read your post is going to be in the 15% who enjoy reading. My friend would never find this–or any other– blog.

Leave a Reply

